My February Reading List

In February I’ve been able to read more books due to my commutes to work and home again in the train 30 mins there and back. I only managed to read 3 and a half books. I started reading one at the beginning of February and got 30 pages in ad just could not get into it. I was not enjoying it. I’m trying out different genres as I normally stick to just typical girl/boy fall in love who aren’t supposed to..

The books I read were Paris For One by Jojo Moyes, Beware the Past by Joy Ellis and Me Before You by Jojo Moyes also. I currently have 8% left of Me After You also.

paris for one

Paris For One was one I enjoyed reading thoroughly. It consisted of a story which took up a good half of the book about a woman called Nell who had a boyfriend that hadn’t shown his full interest in her, she booked a spur of the moment trip to Paris for them to enjoy together and the boyfriend just didn’t show up! What a …..!

Anyway Nell meets some lovely people in Paris and she goes outside her comfort zone and realises that she is missing out on so much. It is filled with romance and adventure and for those of you readers who like playing it safe and are scared of taking the leap into the unknown then you will love this book. The rest of the book is filled with short stories about men and woman and relationships, set 200 years ago, 10 years ago and the present day and knowing your worth.

beware the past goodreads
Photo – Goodreads

Beware the Past by Joy Ellis was a crime thriller novel. I could not put this down and I wanted to always know what happened next when I had to get off the train to go to work. The story followed a detective who was close to retirement but someone started playing tricks again. This person was evil but the detective didn’t know if this was someone in his past coming back to haunt him, maybe previous felons that had been convicted or someone in his life now that wanted to see him suffer. I liked how as the reader you are on the journey to find out exactly who this evil person is. And if you like a British drama series revolving around the Police force or investigations then this book is for you! I was on the edge of my seat with every bit of evidence and clues were given.

me before you amazon
Photo – Amazon

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes is a heart-wrenching novel following Louisa, a young woman who finds employment caring for a man named Will who is a quadriplegic, where he can only feel from the chest up. I had already watched the movie when it first released but was only this year where I read the novel. I did have a little cry at the end of the book, and then again when I rewatched the movie shortly after. Jojo Moyes did a terrific job of bringing the characters to life and showing how Louisa and Will’s relationship grew and the struggles they both faced in life. If you want a good book to read that will make you understand how much life is worth living or if you like soppy romcom books then you will not be able to put this book down!

I hope you liked my short and sweet reviews. Again I’m loving my Amazon Fire Tablet where all my books are inside and don’t have to carry individual books in my handbag everyday.

Keep Smiling,

Sophie x

11 thoughts on “My February Reading List

  1. ‘Beware the Past’ sounds really good, I loved Me Before You and After You! I haven’t read ‘Paris for One’ though but it does sound good. I wish I could read whilst travelling as I’d be able to get much more reading done too but unfortunately it makes me too travel sick!
    Jess xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah it was. If you like crime books then you’ll like it. Yeah I used to love reading then other things took priority but I love how I can use my commuting times to read my books 🙂 Paris for One is cute and im almost done Me After You, then I’ll move onto Still Me and then after that I think I’ll read the Girl on the Train thriller after that. Aww you should try taking travel sickness tablets or make like 30 mins reading time before bed or something 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Girl on the Train is so good I’ve read it twice I hope you enjoy it! I have to take sickness tablets just to travel but they don’t help the reading thing it’s rubbish but I get it from my mom she’s exactly the same! I do try to read every night though xx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m going to have to check out that thriller book, Beware the Past! That sounds like it’d be right up my alley.

    I loved Me Before You. The movies are never the same but they did do a good job. That one I couldn’t put down, either!

    Thanks for the recommendations. I hope you’re killing your March reading list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I really liked Beware the Past, it was quite gripping! Yeah I wish they would make the 2 remaining books into a movie series but it ended very well. Yeah I read the 2 remaining books in that series, then read Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins and currently a quarter the way through Into the Water by Paula also. Still got a few days left in March to finish this one and will then do a review on those 😊

      Thank you so much for your lovely comments x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. What are the other 2 in the series you’re talking about?

        I’ve read me before you and The Girl on The Train. That one was one of my favorites I have read in a while.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. In the Me Before You series there is also Me After You and Still Me. Still Me was released a couple of months ago. You should read those 2 🙂 Yeah I found it weird as I read it whilst I was commuting to and from work everyday haha but I loved it!

    Like

  4. I love trying out different genres of books. For a while I only read fantasy books (mostly by Mercedes Lackey). Of late, I have been reading books by Jan Karon (read through her entire Mitford Series) and of course all the kids books for my children. Hoping to get back into reading history-themed books (both fiction and non-fiction).

    Like

Leave a comment